Yamaha Names Winners of 22nd Annual Yamaha Young Performing Artist Competition

4/30/2010 [Marching Instruments]

Music Students from Across the Country Win Top Honors; Join Impressive Roster of Previous Winners

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind.—Talented young artists from across the country were honored recently as Yamaha Corporation of America, Band & Orchestral Division, announced the winners of the 2010 Yamaha Young Performing Artist (YYPA) competition. Winners are invited to attend an all expenses paid weekend at the Music For All (MFA) Summer Symposium, where one overall winner will be chosen and will receive a grand prize.

The YYPA program was designed in 1989 to provide early career recognition for outstanding young musicians in the United States. Hundreds of applicants, ages 16-21, apply annually and undergo a rigorous taped audition process for a panel of internationally acclaimed musicians. The 2010 winners join more than 200 other talented musicians who have earned the distinction since the program's inception. Many have received scholarships to prestigious universities and conservatories, or are playing professionally with major jazz groups and top symphony orchestras.

This year's YYPA Concert will be held on Monday, June 21 at 8:00 p.m. at Braden Auditorium on the campus of Illinois State University in Normal, Ill. The concert will take place at Summer Symposium, and will serve as its kick-off concert. The winners will be guests of Yamaha for a weekend of rehearsals, master classes, special awards concerts and social events.

"Yamaha has a long history of encouraging and supporting young musicians at every level," said John Wittmann, Manager of Education and Artist Relations, Yamaha Corporation of America; Band & Orchestral Division. "The past twenty-two years of YYPA have given the many young talented musicians a major boost."

Former YYPA winners have gone on to highly successful careers, with highlights that include playing with world-renowned musicians, winning international competitions and releasing recordings. Previous YYPA winners include clarinetist Ricardo Morales (1990), principal clarinet of the Philadelphia Orchestra; saxophonist Otis Murphy (1994), faculty at Indiana University School of Music; flutist Jasmine Choi (2004), associate principal flute with the Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra; jazz pianist and Blue Note recording artist Aaron Parks (2000); saxophonist Kenneth Tse (1994), faculty at the University of Iowa; and percussionist Kevin Bobo (1994), faculty at Indiana University School of Music.

The 2010 winners are:




Jennifer Zhou

Columbus, OH


McKenzie Allen

Irmo, SC


Kyle Yecke

Flint, MI


Elena Pedersen

Lake Mary, FL


Adam Larson

Normal, IL

Jazz Saxophone

Adrienne Doctor

Pittsburgh, PA


John Cyrus Turman

Austin, TX


Gretchen Renshaw

Middleburg, PA


Jake Harpster

Topeka, KS


Jordan Voth

Wichita, KS


Honorable Mention:

Jessica Anastasio

San Antonio, TX


Eric Bowman

Portage, MI


Spencer Inch

Wilton, CT


For more information about the Yamaha Young Performing Artists Program, write Yamaha Corporation of America, Band & Orchestral Division, 39 West Jackson Place, Suite 150, Indianapolis, IN 46225; call (317) 524-6272; e-mail jvierling@yamaha.com; or visit www.yamaha.com/band.

Return to Top