Yamaha Young Performing Artists Program Puts Nine Stellar Young Musicians Center Stage

5/15/2015 [Music Education]

INDIANAPOLIS — Yamaha Artist Services Indianapolis, in conjunction with Yamaha Corporation of America’s Band and Orchestral Division, announced nine 2015 Yamaha Young Performing Artists (YYPA) Competition Winners. The annual YYPA Program, which underscores Yamaha’s commitment to music education, recognizes exceptional emerging jazz, classical and contemporary musicians.

Winners are chosen after submitting recordings and supporting material, which are evaluated by a panel of Yamaha Performing Artists and national celebrity musicians. In addition to the nine winners, the judges chose five honorable mention recipients. The winners receive an all-expense paid trip to the YYPA Celebration Weekend, held June 20-23, 2015, which includes rehearsals, master classes, social events and workshops focused on how to establish and maintain a career in music. The weekend culminates with the YYPA Concert, to be held Monday, June 22, at 8:00 p.m. at Emens Auditoriumon the campus of Ball State University. The event serves as the kick-off concert for the Music for All Summer Symposium, presented by Yamaha.


Jake Chapman from Los Angeles performs
jazz vibraphone at the 2014 YYPA Concert

The 2015 YYPA Winners include:

Name Hometown Instrument
Michael Alampi Glen Ridge, New Jersey Flute
Stuart Englehart Olmsted Falls, Ohio Bassoon
Graeme Johnson Austin, Texas Clarinet
Patrick Bartley, Jr. Hollywood, Florida Saxophone
Braden Waddell Graham, Washington Trumpet
Zachary Grass Waynesboro, Pennsylvania Tuba
Misaki Nakamichi Osaka, Japan Drum Set
Kyle Price Worthington, Ohio Cello
Jae Young Kim Seoul, South Korea Piano


Honorable Mention

Name Hometown Instrument
Christopher Padilla Spring, Texas Saxophone
Adam Marchand Muncie, Indiana Trumpet
Kevin Broom McLean, Virginia Euphonium
Mark Trotter Seminole, Florida Horn
Se Um Rochester, New York Percussion


Jeff Coffin, the featured artist at this year’s YYPA celebration, is a world-class saxophonist, composer, bandleader and educator. He won three Grammy Awards as a member of Bela Fleck and The Flecktones, with whom he played for more than a decade until 2010, and is currently a member of the Dave Matthews Band. He also fronts Jeff Coffin + the Mu’tet and presents music education clinics nationwide, attesting to his passion for helping musicians find and shape their personal musical voice.

The 2015 YYPA Winners join the ranks of more than 200 former winners since the program’s inception, many of whom have established successful music careers. Past winners include Ricardo Morales, principal clarinet of the Philadelphia Orchestra; Alex Han, saxophonist with Marcus Miller; Otis Murphy, professor of saxophone, Indiana University; Conrad Jones, principal trumpet with the Tucson Symphony; and Aaron Parks, jazz pianist and Blue Note recording artist.

For more information about the Yamaha Young Performing Artists Program, email jgascho@yamaha.com or visit: http://4wrd.it/YYPA_WEBSITE_2015.

Return to Top