Snapshot of Noteworthy Past YYPA Winner Achievements

Scott D. Kretzer Percussion 1991 YYPA Winner
Yamaha Performing Artist and faculty at Adrian College and Heidelberg University

Dennis Jeter III Trumpet 1991 YYPA Winner
Founder and CEO of A Sound Strategy, Inc., a web-based software solutions company

Claire L. (Murry) Kuebler Flute 1991 YYPA Winner
Yamaha Performing Artist, soloist, and educator

Jason Freese  Saxophone 1994 YYPA Winner
Keyboardist and saxophonist for the rock band Green Day, among others

Otis Murphy Saxophone 1994 YYPA Winner
Yamaha Performing Artist and Professor of Saxophone at Indiana University

Kenneth Tse Saxophone 1994 YYPA Winner
Yamaha Performing Artist and Professor of Saxophone at the University of Iowa

Kristi Crago Horn 1994 YYPA Winner
Member of the IRIS Symphony, Milwaukee Ballet Orchestra, and Greenbay Symphony

Todd Groves Saxophone 1994 YYPA Winner
Faculty at the University of Delaware

Melissa Robinson Horn 1994 YYPA Winner
Member of the Newport Symphony Orchestra and faculty at Portland State University

Stephen Bottom Trumpet 1994 YYPA Winner
Trumpet soloist, educator, and studio musician

Christopher Rettie Saxophone 1995 YYPA Winner
Sergeant First Class and Saxophonist for the West Point Sax Quartet

Josh Dekaney Marimba 1995 YYPA Winner
Affiliate Artist of Percussion at Syracuse University

Nathan Childers Saxophone 1996 YYPA Winner 
Yamaha Performing Artist; Broadway, movie, and concert soloist; educator and composer

Nathaniel Mayfield Trumpet 1997 YYPA Winner
Yamaha Performing Artist and International Baroque Trumpet Soloist

Michelle Perry Horn 1997 YYPA Winner 
Yamaha Performing Artist and Principal Horn for the Australian Opera and Ballet Orchestra

Josh McGuire Horn 1998 YYPA Winner
Assistant Professor of Horn at Colorado State University

Ryan Keberle Trombone 1998 YYPA Winner
Freelance trombone artist in NYC and faculty at the City University of New York

Paul Bhasin Trumpet 1998 YYPA Winner
Faculty at The College of William & Mary

Matthew Coley Marimba 1999 YYPA Winner
Faculty at Iowa State University

Rachel Epley Trumpet 1999 YYPA Winner 
Music therapist at Horizon Hospice in Chicago

Aaron Parks Piano 2000 YYPA Winner
Freelance jazz pianist

Matthew Witten Marimba  2000 YYPA Winner
Percussion Director at the University of Rochester

Aaron Hill Oboe 2002 YYPA Winner 
Faculty at the University of Virginia

Christopher Hopkins Cello 2004 YYPA Winner
Founder of Hopkins Entertainment, an Entertainment Management Company

Jack Cozen Harel Oboe 2004 YYPA Winner 
Yamaha Performing Artist, Oboist of the Solaris Quintet, and faculty at the University of Akron

Matt Prendergast   Percussion 2004 YYPA Winner
Principal percussionist for the Malaysian Philharmonic Orchestra

Jasmine Choi Flute 2004 YYPA Winner
Flutist for the Vienna Symphony

Alex Han Saxophone 2005 YYPA Winner
Yamaha Performing Artist and international saxophone soloist

Nathan Bogert Saxophone 2007 YYPA Winner
Active teacher and soloist, performing with various ensembles worldwide

Ryu Cipris Flute 2007 YYPA Winner
Flutist for the 25th Anniversary tour of Les Miserables

Conrad Jones Trumpet 2008 YYPA Winner
Member of the Tucson Symphony

Adam Larson Saxophone 2010 YYPA Winner
NYC jazz soloist, recently released first solo album Simple Beauty

Jose Valentino Ruiz Flute 2010 YYPA Winner
Teaching Assistant at the University of South Florida, traveling clinician and producer

Jake Harpster  Marimba 2010 YYPA Winner
Recently finished an international tour with Blast!

McKenzie Allen Oboe 2010 YYPA Winner
US Marine Corp Musician, Class E2

Austin Larson Horn 2011 YYPA Winner
Performs with Symphony in C, Winner of 2011 IHS Premier Soloist Competition and the IHCA

Chase Morrin Piano 2012 YYPA Winner
Recipient of The Herb Alpert Young Jazz Composers and the Jimmy Van Heusen Awards